It is currently Sun 17 Dec, 2017 04:26

All times are UTC + 2 hours




 Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Registered But No Geotag Capability
PostPosted: Fri 10 Oct, 2008 00:10 
Registered
Registered

Joined: Thu 09 Oct, 2008 23:46
Posts: 4
I am trying to geotag photos taken with the BT-1000 on my Mac. The data log file downloads to the software OK, and I can import that photos I want to tag. However, the GeoTag buttons remain stubbornly dim. The manual suggests that this because it's not registered. It is. I have the exiftool installed correctly. What am I doing wrong?


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Registered But No Geotag Capability
PostPosted: Fri 10 Oct, 2008 10:44 
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Sat 25 Dec, 2004 16:19
Posts: 425
Tresy wrote:
However, the GeoTag buttons remain stubbornly dim. The manual suggests that this because it's not registered. It is. I have the exiftool installed correctly. What am I doing wrong?

Are you sure you're using the latest version?
There has been a version which had some of the problems you describe, but those have been fixed.



_________________
Met vriendelijke groeten,

Bert Rozenberg
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri 10 Oct, 2008 21:46 
Registered
Registered

Joined: Thu 09 Oct, 2008 23:46
Posts: 4
Thanks for your reply. I'm using 2.4.0.10, downloaded a week ago, build date 8/30. Surely there isn't a more recent version than this?

BTW, I emailed their support yesterday; no reply yet. I'll be demanding a refund if they blow me off much longer.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri 10 Oct, 2008 22:04 
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Sat 25 Dec, 2004 16:19
Posts: 425
Tresy wrote:
Thanks for your reply. I'm using 2.4.0.10, downloaded a week ago, build date 8/30. Surely there isn't a more recent version than this?

We frequently update our programs. For example: Mac Travel Recorder has been updated twice in the last week.
Only when there are big changes, we'll announce a major update.
So, if you encounter problems, it's always a good idea to download the latest version.

Quote:
BTW, I emailed their support yesterday; no reply yet.

The best place to get support is this forum.

Quote:
I'll be demanding a refund if they blow me off much longer.

There are several ways to get the support you need, but I don't think that is one of them.
As an old proverb says: “You’ll catch more flies with honey than with vinegar.”



_________________
Met vriendelijke groeten,

Bert Rozenberg
Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri 10 Oct, 2008 22:20 
Registered
Registered

Joined: Thu 09 Oct, 2008 23:46
Posts: 4
I just did download (what I hope is) the latest version (2.5.0.5). It works even worse than the last version. Now I get unhandled error exceptions, unable to open serial port errors, a complete inability to connect to my unit, hanging on quit, still no enabled Preferences, and needless to say, no Geotagging capability. The tab isn't even enabled, despite having it registered and the exiftool installed. I have deleted and reinstalled the current version several times. I have rebooted my Mac several times. It just gets worse and worse.

I am rapidly running out of patience with this product. If you have any ideas, please, I'm all ears.


Offline
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri 10 Oct, 2008 22:57 
Registered
Registered

Joined: Thu 09 Oct, 2008 23:46
Posts: 4
OK, I finally got the product to launch and connect after uninstalling and reinstalling the USB to Serial driver. I still get hangs on quit, but at least it connects to my recorder. Still no change in behavior however--the geotag buttons remain dim.

Question: I'm in Pacific Time Zone, which is GMT+8, correct? So my most recent image, taken a few moments ago, says 1:40 PM and the camera time in the product is GMT+8. The logger is putting out data that says the time of the logging is 8:40PM, which I assume per your manual, is UTC. That sounds like a 7 hour time difference to me. Is it possible this is why there is no GeoTag button enabled, because there is no data that matches with the timestamp on the image?


Offline
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 2 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:

cron